Abia State Governor, Dr. Alex Otti, OFR, on Friday rolled out the full list of 19 commissioners and their portfolios.

However, 16 of them, who had been screened and cleared by the State House of Assembly, were sworn in by the Governor with a charge to keep an eye for the future.

Governor Otti admonished them to eschew individual or clannish interests but rather put the state first in everything they do.

“You must therefore spend your waking hours thinking about the entire state as a single constituency; made up of men and women who yearn for better opportunities to advance themselves economically and socially.

“Do not betray the trust of our people who have remained patient and loyal to our course by toeing the same path that brought Abia to the sorry state we met it. The privilege of your appointment must never be seen as an opportunity for self enrichment or advancement of unwholesome interests. There would be zero tolerance for any of those.

“We are here to work for the whole state and anyone who entertains any doubts about that may have found himself in the wrong room. The New Abia we are currently laying its foundations shall be one where the interests of the whole state supercedes the selfishness of any individual or entity,” Dr. Otti declared.

The event which held at the Banquet Hall of the Government House in Umuahia, capital of Abia State, attracted senior government functionaries including the Deputy Governor, Engr Ikechukwu Emetu; Speaker Abia State House of Assembly, Rt Hon Emmanuel Emeruwa; Chief Judge, Hon Justice Lilian Abai; Secretary to the State Government, Prof Kenneth Kalu and Chief of Staff, Dr. Caleb Ajagba.

Chief Press Secretary to the Governor
Abia State.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: